Energy Department Announces Participants of 2021 Collegiate Wind Competition

Source: DOE, Feb 26, 2020

 The U.S. Department of Energy announced the 13 collegiate teams selected to participate in the 2021 Collegiate Wind Competition. Three new schools were selected along with 10 returning teams from previous competitions. The colleges and universities selected to participate in the Collegiate Wind Competition 2021 are:

  • Brigham Young University
  • California Polytechnic State University – San Luis Obispo
  • California State University Maritime Academy
  • James Madison University
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • Kansas State University
  • Northern Arizona University
  • Texas Tech University
  • The Pennsylvania State University
  • University of Maryland
  • University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Washington State University – Everett

The competition challenges multidisciplinary teams of undergraduate students to develop a project plan based on wind energy market and siting considerations, design and build a model wind turbine, and test their turbine in a wind tunnel against a set of rigorous performance criteria. Participating teams will combine the expertise of students from a variety of programs, such as engineering, business, communications, and social science, to develop state-of-the-art wind energy solutions. Participants will integrate academic coursework with tangible, hands-on learning, and earn valuable real-world experience as they prepare to enter the workforce.

Full Story…